Not All Families Are Related By Blood

 

19511495_1391102854316326_2542557913480069577_n

 

Following on from my previous post about finding my true north, this evening I took a huge leap out of my comfort zone and returned to the scene of some of the greatest moments of my life.

EFI288519-110617062423

For ten years, on the first and third Mondays of the month, you would find me attending Toastmasters meetings. I even had the honour of being the youngest President in my club’s history and being crowned the club’s “Toastmaster of the Year” but, as I was also studying at the time and near the end of my degree, some things had to be let go and sadly, Toastmasters was one of them. However, I kept in regular contact with my club and promised that I would eventually find my way back to meetings.

One excuse followed another and with dad’s passing, it never seemed to be the right time. Even with the depression that I am now suffering from, I decided that tonight was the night that I would take a leap of faith and head back to Toastmasters.

I am not ashamed to say that it took a huge effort for me to get dressed and head out the door. I very nearly talked myself out of going along with nearly having a massive panic attack, but I got out the door and heading to the meeting.

To say I was very nervous about going back after all this time would be the understatement of the year!! I was nervous about how I would be received and how members would react around me after dad’s passing. But all this evaporated after knocking on the door and seeing the delight on faces of those I considered true friends and the warm hugs I also felt. It was truly as if I had never left and I found myself giving a great deal of consideration to re-joining.

Getting out of my comfort zone may have been one of the hardest things I have done, but it truly exceeded every single expectation I had. It was truly as if I had never left and I’m sure I’ll be attending more meetings in the future (and who knows….I may even become a member again).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

